Lectures and Seminars

 

List of lectures and seminars offered by the Tra&Co Team

 

Ü Empirische Methoden in der Translationswissenschaft (MA)

Katharina Oster

Shortname: 06.008.0517
Course No.: 06.008.0517

Contents

How do translators translate? And how do translations differ from other texts? These are two of the most important questions in translation studies. In order to find answers to these questions, we need the right research methods. In this course, we will learn about several possible methods used in empirical translation studies. At the end of this course every students will be able to choose the adequate method for a certain research question and to plan an experiment. This course will prepare students for experimental semniars and for an experimental master thesis.
The following topics will be covered:
• different methods will be presented (eye tracking, EEG, fMRI, corpora)
• the improtance of experimental control (how to choose participants and materials?)
• practical experiences (all students will plan an experimental study)
• being a participant (all students will participate in an empirical study in order to get to know the empirical methods from another perspectives. The students can choose from several studies including eye tracking, EEG and fMRI.)

Dates:

Date (Day of the week)TimeLocation
04/15/2020 (Wednesday)14.40 to 16.10N.211 Hörsaal
8512 - FAS Hörsaalgebäude
04/22/2020 (Wednesday)14.40 to 16.10N.211 Hörsaal
8512 - FAS Hörsaalgebäude
04/29/2020 (Wednesday)14.40 to 16.10N.211 Hörsaal
8512 - FAS Hörsaalgebäude
05/06/2020 (Wednesday)14.40 to 16.10N.211 Hörsaal
8512 - FAS Hörsaalgebäude
05/13/2020 (Wednesday)14.40 to 16.10N.211 Hörsaal
8512 - FAS Hörsaalgebäude
05/20/2020 (Wednesday)14.40 to 16.10N.211 Hörsaal
8512 - FAS Hörsaalgebäude
05/27/2020 (Wednesday)14.40 to 16.10N.211 Hörsaal
8512 - FAS Hörsaalgebäude
06/03/2020 (Wednesday)14.40 to 16.10N.211 Hörsaal
8512 - FAS Hörsaalgebäude
06/10/2020 (Wednesday)14.40 to 16.10N.211 Hörsaal
8512 - FAS Hörsaalgebäude
06/17/2020 (Wednesday)14.40 to 16.10N.211 Hörsaal
8512 - FAS Hörsaalgebäude
06/24/2020 (Wednesday)14.40 to 16.10N.211 Hörsaal
8512 - FAS Hörsaalgebäude
07/01/2020 (Wednesday)14.40 to 16.10N.211 Hörsaal
8512 - FAS Hörsaalgebäude
07/08/2020 (Wednesday)14.40 to 16.10N.211 Hörsaal
8512 - FAS Hörsaalgebäude

Semester: WiSe 2020/21