Lectures and Seminars

 

List of lectures and seminars offered by the Tra&Co Team

 

PS Wenn Übersetzer mit Maschinen reden: Wie wurde dieser Dialog erforscht und wie wird er in der Zukunft aussehen?

Moritz Schaeffer

Shortname: 06.008.0021
Course No.: 06.008.0021

Contents

It is part of professional translators' daily lives that they interact with various translation tools. These systems have two goals: On the one hand, they are designed to increase productivity and, on the other hand, to make the translator's work easier. At the lowest level, they include language checking programs that highlight spelling mistakes, for example. The other extreme are systems that make predictions about what the translator will type next and learn from human translations to make better predictions. However, producing user interfaces and systems of this kind is not easy and requires an understanding of what the translator needs and when. In this seminar you will look at the literature that explores the dialogue between man and machine, mostly with the aims of increasing productivity and reducing cognitive effort. You will get a historical overview of the existing research and be able to make well-founded predictions about future developments. Active participation and a small research paper are necessary to pass this seminar.

Dates:

Date (Day of the week)TimeLocation
10/18/2019 (Friday)09.40 to 11.10N.105 Hörsaal
8512 - FAS Hörsaalgebäude
10/25/2019 (Friday)09.40 to 11.10N.105 Hörsaal
8512 - FAS Hörsaalgebäude
11/08/2019 (Friday)09.40 to 11.10N.105 Hörsaal
8512 - FAS Hörsaalgebäude
11/15/2019 (Friday)09.40 to 11.10N.105 Hörsaal
8512 - FAS Hörsaalgebäude
11/22/2019 (Friday)09.40 to 11.10N.105 Hörsaal
8512 - FAS Hörsaalgebäude
11/29/2019 (Friday)09.40 to 11.10N.105 Hörsaal
8512 - FAS Hörsaalgebäude
12/06/2019 (Friday)09.40 to 11.10N.105 Hörsaal
8512 - FAS Hörsaalgebäude
12/13/2019 (Friday)09.40 to 11.10N.105 Hörsaal
8512 - FAS Hörsaalgebäude
12/20/2019 (Friday)09.40 to 11.10N.105 Hörsaal
8512 - FAS Hörsaalgebäude
01/10/2020 (Friday)09.40 to 11.10N.105 Hörsaal
8512 - FAS Hörsaalgebäude
01/17/2020 (Friday)09.40 to 11.10N.105 Hörsaal
8512 - FAS Hörsaalgebäude
01/24/2020 (Friday)09.40 to 11.10N.105 Hörsaal
8512 - FAS Hörsaalgebäude
01/31/2020 (Friday)09.40 to 11.10N.105 Hörsaal
8512 - FAS Hörsaalgebäude
02/07/2020 (Friday)09.40 to 11.10N.105 Hörsaal
8512 - FAS Hörsaalgebäude

Semester: WiSe 2019/20